County of Monmouth

For Immediate Release:

February 7, 2013
Monmouth County Fire Academy
 graduates 59

HOWELL, NJ – The Monmouth County Fire Academy graduated 59 firefighters from the Firefighter I program last week. Graduates were divided into two classes: Class 96 graduated Jan. 22 and Class 97 graduated Jan. 23. Both ceremonies were held at the county Fire Academy on Route 33.


James Taylor of the Cranbury Volunteer Fire Company receives the Fitzpatrick Award from Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III and Freeholder John P. Curley.Graduates worked 188 hours over 30 sessions and received training in rescue, fire extinguishment, hazardous materials response, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, electrical safety, and care of hoses, ladders and other equipment. 


Freeholder John P. Curley told both classes of graduates that they would always remember their initial firefighter training and how Superstorm Sandy jump started their service to their communities.


“This type of an emergency was truly indoctrination by fire,” Curley said. “All of these trainees were with their local fire companies providing community rescue assistance or mutual aid to their neighbors. Some assisted with evacuations as Sandy approached our coastline; some stood watch at a downed power line; while other performed rescue operations as the water rose and citizens needed help.”

 Todd Migdon (center) of the Bradley Beach Fire Company receives the Fitzpatrick Award from Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III and Freeholder John P. Curley.

Curley then added, “Because of you and your fellow firefighters, we can rest knowing that in this remarkable time, you answered the call for help. On behalf of the Board of Chosen Freeholders, I thank you.” 


A graduate from each class earned an award in honor of Ronald Fitzpatrick, a former instructor at the Fire Academy who died in 2003. The awards went to James Taylor, Class 96 of the Cranbury Volunteer Fire Company, and Todd Migdon, Class 97, of the Bradley Beach Fire Department in recognition of their high test scores.


Monmouth County Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III congratulated the graduates and urged them to continue their training with advanced courses offered at the Fire Academy.


“Over the years I have learned that it takes a special type of person to be a firefighter,” Stryker said. “They have to have a passion to do this job. The graduates sitting before us have that passion because they have completed the rigorous training as their first step. Please be safe.”


Each year thousands of local firefighters receive training at the county Fire Academy. Applications for the Firefighter I class are being accepted now. The next class will begin in the fall.  

#    #    #


* A list of graduates from each class follows:  

Firefighter 1 - Class 96


Christian Annunziata, Holmdel Fire Rescue Co. #2

Michael Bardsley, Ramtown

Justin Boucher, Squankum Fire Co.

Derek DeLuca, Robertsville

Eric DiReda, Fair Haven

Jason Fazzaro, Cranbury Township

Franklin Gaskin III, Unexcelled Fire Co.

Samuel Gomez, Jr., East Windsor Volunteer Co. #2

Peter Gray, Elberon Engine

Thomas Haberstick, Bradley Beach

Alexander Handel, Gordon’s Corner

Daniel Huyler, Eatontown

Matt Jachyra, Middletown Fire Dept.

Bradford Jennings, Shrewsbury Hose Co.

Kevin Jobes, Sea Bright

Patrick Jobes, Sea Bright

Jason Kole, Gordon’s Corner

Alexander Kubiak, Adelphia

Sean Lampf, West Long Branch #1

Matthew Leitch, New Point Comfort #1

Joanne Letson, Bradley Beach

David Lovey, Southard

Stephen Madden, Holmdel Fire Rescue Co. #2

Sean Malone, Point Pleasant Beach

Michael Stewart, Monroe Township Volunteer #

Christopher Talocka, West Long Branch #1

Christopher Tappan, West Long Branch #1

James Taylor, Cranbury Township

Trisha Timony, Millstone Township

Steve Turner, Holmdel Fire Rescue Co. #2


Firefighter 1 - Class 97

Robert Achimov, Fair Haven

Daniel Andrus, Adelphia

Kristian Aspiolea, Freehold Independent

Michael Biyad, Holmdel #1

Matthew Coleman, Spring Lake Heights

Joseph Corson, Jr., Wayside

John DePinto, Adelphia

Frank Ferrara, Adelphia

David Glenny, Robertsville

Ryder Grimes, Ramtown

Edward Karecki, III, Laurence Harbor

Andrew Kennedy, Englishtown

John Kupsch, Eatontown

Conor Lennon, Englishtown

Travis Lowande, Jamesburg

Matt Manzella, Freehold Independent

Todd Migdon, Bradley Beach

Salvatore Nesta, IV, Hazlet No. 1

Matthew O’Brien, Englishtown

Michael Parkes, Pioneer Hose

Raymond Peterson, Shrewsbury Hose

Timothy Rehm, Wayside

Chris Reid, Jamesburg

Andrew Santos, Bradley Beach

Louis Sarti, Englishtown

Michael Schubert, Freewood Acres

Justin Scullion, Squankum

Kirk Smith, Wayside

Robert Smith, III, Morganville Independent